“Move out of your comfort zone. You can only grow if you are willing to feel awkward and uncomfortable when you try something new.” ~Brian Tracy

DucksThere are so many people who play it safe in life, and they look at people like me and wonder why I don’t have all my ducks in a row. I may still be lining things up, but one thing I can say is that I have taken some chances in my life. It’s been rough and uncomfortable. I’ve cried, felt anxious, depressed, and out of control. Most people don’t want to go through that! I’ll admit that when I’m out of my comfort zone I feel a little crazy and unsheltered (especially because of my past), but one thing I can say is that from every insane experience, I really have learned something new.

Scared-To-Take-Risks-Stop-Playing-It-SafeI used to look at people who have had the same job or career almost their entire life and think, “Wow, wouldn’t it be nice to have that kind of stability? I wish I knew what I really wanted in life.” Don’t get me wrong, I definitely want stability (mainly for my kids), but at least I can say that I’m working towards a life that I actually want now that I know who I am. People don’t take chances because of the things that are conditioned in their brain at an early age. This is why I tell my kids all the time that I’m proud of them, they are intelligent, and they can do anything they put their minds to.

Stop-Playing-It-SafeI’ll be the first to admit that there are still adventures I wish I’d have gone on, but because I grew up being told I’m fat, stupid, and never would amount to anything, I started believing it. It wasn’t until last year that I started loving myself, flaws and all. But this isn’t about me…it’s about you…what chances are you taking in your life? I can tell you that I moved out to a bigger area just recently with only a car, clothes, and a few other things. I felt like I was going berserk sleeping in the car with my husband and dog for about a week; however, I took a chance. I’m here, and I know that things will get better because I am not just sitting around hoping things will come to me without any effort. I met some really caring and generous people by stepping out of my comfort zone. I sure as hell wasn’t getting anything accomplished in the small town I was living in for the two years I was there.roadtowhere

positiveI know this world is full of uncertainty, poverty, disease, and affliction, but that’s only because we as individuals make it that way. I started trying to view life as if I was living my last day here on earth. Obviously, I don’t have the funds to go out and do some of the things I want to do, but if I look at it that way, it really helps me see things from a different perspective. What if I was going to die tomorrow? I know I still sometimes do and say things I regret because it’s difficult to think all day long about your actions and choices when things come at you unexpectedly, but overall, my decisions have changed based on that way of thinking. We really don’t know how long we have here on this earth. Is there any point staying stuck in one spot and living your entire life regretting every agreement you make with yourself? I have seen some really unhappy people who have played it safe in one way or another. Don’t let that be you! Stand up and shine!

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

