“Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” ~Carl Bard

raisehandRaise your hand if you have ever wanted to go back and fix your past? Shh! I won’t tell anyone that you’re just like the rest of us! There are so many times I have wished I could correct the actions or choices I made in the past. If I told you I wasn’t that way, I would be lying to you. I’m sure everyone at some point has wanted to change something about the decisions they made…maybe as a child, a teenager, or young adult. I still sometimes wonder what life may have been like if I had only done this or that.

simpson-doh_8ce52da14a41e9a6edd7b24ef3373febHere’s the thing, though, there is no point in thinking about the what-ifs of life. You can’t readjust your past, but you can polish the road to your future by making a point to improve your attitude in the present moment. It can be very difficult. I am still working on troubleshooting my thoughts. There are so many ways this can be done. The best approaches are through mindfulness and/or meditation, among other things, such as positive affirmations. Though mindfulness and meditation are similar, they are not the same thing.

mindfulness_poster_UKMindfulness is learning how to live in the present moment and just be. Don’t think about the past because it’s over and done, and try not to think too much about the future because it hasn’t even been written and can change at any time. Dr. Wayne Dyer couldn’t have observed mindfulness and explained it in a better way. He said, “I am a human being, not a human doing. Don’t equate your self-worth with how well you do things in life.”

Mindfulness-Self-Improvement-1

o-MEDITATION-facebookMeditation is a little different, but it also helps a person focus and get out of their own way. By learning how to control the thought process, it can be a big help to learning how to live in the present moment and be more optimistic as well. These two things I try to incorporate into my life on a daily basis, and I will honestly tell you it has helped tremendously! So, take it from me that one of the best gifts you can give yourself is to take some time out just to focus your thoughts and energy in a more positive way.

o-NARCISSIST-facebookEveryone, I mean everyone, makes mistakes. If you can’t understand that, then I’d say you may be bordering on narcissism. No, I’m not really being serious about that last comment. I will be the first to own up that I am trying to get past the fact that I’m a slight perfectionist. In the past, I was very hard on myself to the point of sometimes not even trying. Which is why I am finally writing and putting myself out there! I decided that life is short, so I can sit and wallow in self-pity or I can live life, let myself flub up from time to time, and learn from it!

mistakes-scaled1000The best action you can take in your life is to change your thoughts, and if you slip back into that miserable state, don’t give up! You’re just reprogramming your subconscious mind, a part of you that was conditioned by different occurrences from your past that sometimes was beyond your control when you were developing as a child. You are now in control of your ideas, hopes, and reflections…try to make the best out of them!

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

