“Do one thing every day that scares you.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

quote-1444099_960_720Have you ever wondered what your life would be like if you had taken a shot at the things that scared you the most? I know I have spent most of my life afraid of little things that have held me back in one way or another. If I could go back and do it all over again, though, I would have pushed past those things that made me feel as if I was going to jump out of my skin. Oddly enough, I have faced some of my fears, and I have learned so much in the process. I admit, to some people in my family, I might seem a little impulsive about my decisions in life, but when I think about the choices I did make towards ideas and actions that made me uneasy or made them question my motives, I am actually grateful I took that plunge.

eyes-394175_960_720If you do something that freaks you the f#@% out on a daily basis, eventually your panic will diminish. What exactly is holding you back? Fear of insecurity? Failure? Looking like a complete idiot? News Flash: Everyone At Some Point In Their Lives Have Made a Fool of Themselves! That really is the only way you can learn. One of the most awesome and inspirational authors, Jack Canfield, once said, “What others think about you is none of your business!” I remind myself that every day. As mentioned several times, I am recovering from trauma and severe anxiety. My anxiety; however, has actually decreased with the help of some exercises. Repeating positive affirmations and quotes are one of them, and they have helped me TREMENDOUSLY!

fearSo, now that you look at it from a different perspective, what really is holding you back from facing your insecurities head on? I hate to be extreme when I say that we’re all going to die someday. Do you really want to be remembered as that person who played it safe his or her entire life? I know what got my wheels turning is one day I asked myself, “If I die, who will actually come to my funeral?” In the past, I used to hold back; I was afraid to be myself. How boring is that? How will I be remembered for that?

facingfearFinally, I decided, I know I want people to love hearing what I have to say, but it will benefit me more if I actually get my thoughts out there. I am never going to know unless I try. Who cares about lining it up perfectly, following certain steps others have said worked or didn’t work, or finding out how to get SEO and thousands of followers? Just F’N do it already! What’s the worst thing that could happen? Someone tells me I suck at writing? At least I’m doing this for me because it makes me feel better!

facingfear2And that’s all that matters for you as an individual as well. Life is short! Spend it doing things that make you feel alive, and do it being with the people you love! If you make a mistake and someone calls you out on it to the point of isolating you, then you know that person shouldn’t be in your life in the first place because the people who truly love you will love ALL of you…mistakes included.

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on ““Do one thing every day that scares you.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

