“Never dull your shine for somebody else.” ~Tyra Banks

positiveBeing diagnosed with PTSD and severe anxiety three years ago really explained to me why I was afraid to be myself my entire life. I have dealt with some sort of abuse in one or more ways since I was a child, but I had no idea until recently that I was even dealing with trauma. I did so many foolish things because I thought that was the only way that I could be loved. I went through many abusive relationships before I met the man I am currently married to, and because I wasn’t used to being able to be myself, I went through a lot of mental disorientation before I was strong enough to realize how awesome it is to have the ability to make my own decisions!

All_about_you_(single)_logoselfloveThis story isn’t about me, it’s about you, but I have to explain where I’m coming from in order to help you see how beautiful and wonderful you are (men included)! I’m still working out some issues, but all in all, I’m a pretty happy, grateful, and content person. I battle demons in my head on almost a daily basis trying to tell me how worthless I am. I don’t believe them anymore, but they are there because I was conditioned at an early age to consider agreeing with them, so I totally understand if you think you aren’t worth a second glance. However, you are priceless and very important! You were created for a reason! Look in the mirror and see how many ravishing qualities you have. You may not see it right away if you’re anything like me, but the more you look, the more you become satisfied with just being you!

self-confidence-2076792_960_720Yi-love-you-2ou see, God created us differently for a reason. I used to feel as if I never fit in because I was so peculiar, but what I didn’t realize is that I am bizarre for a reason. The cool thing is that I was given the ability to empathize with almost anyone. So, if you think no one understands you, 9 out of 10 times I probably do. I know all it takes is self-love and confidence for you to shine, but this world today is filled with so many negative thoughts about a person’s self-image that almost anyone is afraid to love themselves. That’s why I created this site, to help others see the positive in even the craziest situation. I want to believe that my life can be easy as long as I roll with the punches. Everyone already has enough to worry about, the last thing they need is to be ashamed of who they are as an individual.

ibelieveSo, my challenge for you today is to write down or take a mental note of at least five things you love about yourself. C’mon, you can do it!! Five things are not a whole lot and they can be anything from your physical appearance to the talents you have. The more you recognize how special you, the more you will love yourself, the more confidence you will create, and the more you will shine for others. When that occurs, you are able to step outside yourself and become the person you were sent here to be. The enemy tries to tear us down, and they are doing an excellent job. It’s easy to be harsh and negative because “misery loves company”, but by doing this you are surrendering to life’s battle and admitting that you have no control over your life. You may not be able to control your situation, but you can control how you react to it.

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

