“We are addicted to our thoughts. We cannot change anything if we cannot change our thinking.” ~Santosh Kalwar

brain-954815_960_720I am currently reading a book called Subconscious Mind: The Power from Within by Susi Mora. I am almost finished with the book, and it has definitely been interesting and inspiring. I am actually working on using brain entrainment with visual subliminal messages to reprogram my subconscious mind. I have this excellent idea that I’m going to use with theta binaural beats, my personal images, and phone apps, and I plan on getting it done and uploaded to YouTube as soon as possible. I have been looking up information, studying, and personally using isochronic tones and binaural beats for about a year now. I think they are awesome, and anyone who doesn’t know about them should definitely check them out!

subconscious

mediAccording to Mora, one of the best ways we can use subliminal messages is through visual techniques mixed with the theta state brain waves. I decided to do a little more digging yesterday and found a website: http://www.brainworksneurotherapy.com/what-are-brainwaves. The website explains that theta brainwave state occurs from 3 to 8 HZ. It usually happens in our brains when we are sleeping or in a really deep meditative state. I have also read in Mora’s book that there are times our brains are in the theta mode when we are daydreaming as well. The theta waves are “our gateway to learning and memory” (brainworksneurotherapy.com). Mora states in her book that since the subconscious mind is unable to distinguish the difference between what’s real and what’s not real, the theta state is the best to use for visual hypnotherapy. I am going to test this theory out by creating a slideshow of pictures with positive affirmations attached to them and theta 6.5 HZ binaural beats in the background. I am eager to try this out, and I really hope it works the way I have planned since I am using my smartphone to create this type of entrainment.

communication-1991847_960_720In the book, Mora also mentions how our minds are programmed like a computer from the time we are born, and our subconscious is most impressionable from about the ages of five to eight years old. This is when we start downloading information into our little child brains that are forced upon us by our parents, caregivers, teachers, and any other influenceable adults in our lives. This is why it is so difficult to use the Law of Attraction for people, such as myself, who have gone through trauma and abuse their entire lives. A person can repeat a positive affirmation to the conscious mind, but if their subconscious has so many negative things embedded in it, then it throws it out like it’s trash. Our subconscious mind is one of the most difficult things to retrain, but the good news is that it can be done with certain practices, such as the one I mentioned above.

psychology-1580252_960_720It is difficult to remain positive when the world is full of so many negative thoughts and circumstances, but if we are stubborn enough, we can find ways to use that part of our brain that was meant to be used. We all use every part of our brains at some point, but as far as I have learned, only 10% of it is our conscious mind, which is why that myth was formed that we only use about 10% of our brain capacity. We have to learn how to merge our subconscious with our conscious parts of our brains in order to fully enhance what we were created to do with our lives. I hope that little tidbit of information sinks in and helps the reader realize how awesome and amazing our brains really are.

display-dummy-757451_960_720I remember watching a TEDx on YouTube a while back that actually proved by different brain scans how different mind therapies can actually fill the holes in the brains of people who have different mental health problems. The stumble upon the different things I encountered is actually what helped me recover more quickly than some people who have PTSD and severe anxiety. I am still researching, and still working on things (30+ years of trauma isn’t easy to overcome immediately), but I honestly believe without a shadow of a doubt that if we were created with this incredible thing we call a brain that there are so many miracles out there waiting to be discovered.

self-confidence-2076793_960_720

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

