“Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.” ~Oscar Wilde

20170102_152847 1
Most recent full body selfie beginning of February 2017

fire-heart-961194_960_720I have been promoting self-love since I started blogging. Living an entire life with people who have told me how worthless, fat, and stupid I am made me realize that I want to make sure NOBODY feels the way I had to most of my life. The most interesting thing is I’m not unintelligent. I graduated high school with a 3.4 GPA (that was from slacking off and sadly getting drunk almost every night the last semester of school). I had a cumulative GPA in a college of 4.0 and a major GPA of 3.96. Yes, I worked my ass off for that GPA, but I’m obviously not ignorant! I went to school online, took care of two children, and held a full-time job. All during those four years of college, I remained on Dean’s list. Fat…I can tell you I need to lose about 60 lbs. to be my goal weight, but I love who I am regardless (pic showed above to prove it…btw I hate those mirror pics of people holding their phones that most people do so I did mine differently).

big-1591690_960_720Everyone has to find their confidence and self-love on their own, but my goal is to help others see that they are beautiful and magnificent being the person they already are. I hope one day I will be able to inspire more people than I am, but until then, I will keep writing. Mainly because I know I need to for myself, but also because I am taking that chance that one day what I have to say will help someone in dire need. I may not be as creative as J.K. Rowling, but I know I’m a good writer, so I’m putting myself out there for once in my life!

modelBeing yourself can be difficult in the world today. Most of the time you will see ads for women and men who are thin and fit. This, of course, is a good goal to work for, but the world needs to focus more on letting people express themselves. I am proud to see that they are finally showing off plus-size models. I think it’s awesome that some women who are the fit models we see on television, ads, and in magazines are now displaying that they are natural and normal just like everyone else by posting pictures of themselves on Instagram without makeup or their guts sucked in. We need to step outside the norm and realize that everyone was created differently for a reason. If people would just recognize the exquisiteness God created in every individual then there would definitely be less war and hate crimes and more love and opportunities.

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on ““Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.” ~Oscar Wilde

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

