“If we all did the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves.” ~Thomas Edison

hmmmHow many of us have held back on certain things in our lives because of fear? Now, how many of us have faced that doubt and anxiety, looked in the face, and spit on it? I am being extreme because I know that is what we all need to do. Somehow we were all created to be severely influenced by the things we encounter in our lives. Why this is the case, I have no idea, but what I do know is with that knowledge, it is in our hands to control and dominate our thoughts!

Scared-To-Take-Risks-Stop-Playing-It-SafeAs children, we had no dominion over what we absorbed in our brains. We had no authority over what we wanted to do…maybe some, but not really. This is why so many people have held back from their true calling in life because they were told they were not capable of being or doing what they dreamed. Today, some of my biggest heroes from history were those who were told they weren’t capable of doing something and did it anyway. Edison is one of them. So many people mocked, ridiculed him, and told him what he couldn’t do, and his response was to ignore them and keep pushing on! Guess what he got in return? He became famous because he realized that he was awesome and COULD do what they told him he was foolish for trying to do!

I used to look at my life, cry, and say, “If only…” If only I could go back and do this again, if only I would have made this decision instead of that one…if only…if only…if only… I didn’t wake up suddenly one day and say, “I wouldn’t be who I am today if I hadn’t made those choices.” I am the same as everyone else and I occasionally go back to what I call my “PTSD brain” and feel sorry for myself, but I am working on it because there is no way you can change you past.whatif

Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 7.35.20 AMThe good news is that you can change right now! Every day you can surprise yourself because you CHOOSE to be better, do better, and think better! Does it ever make you wonder what this world would be like if everyone accomplished even the smallest thing in their lives that they thought they couldn’t do? Because the people who try, even if they are told they aren’t able to do something, are the ones who almost always accomplish their goals or die trying. I’d rather die knowing I tried than to sit back and f.e.a.r. everything that comes my way. I remind myself every day that fear stands for “false evidence appearing real”…what really do we need to fear? We may not be able to control our circumstances, obstacles, or the people around us, but we can rule our thoughts and our minds.

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

