“Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference.” ~Winston Churchill

dragon“I always like to look on the optimistic side of life, but I am realistic enough to know that life is a complex matter.” ~Walt Disney

Life can rear it’s ugly, stinky, double headed dragon at times. I love trying to fill my mind with positive thoughts, but there are certain things you have to be realistic about.

fog-rising-from-the-mountainside

“Pessimism leads to weakness, optimism to power.” ~William James

One thing you can learn, though, is that if you try to stay positive even when the going gets tough, you can usually rise up from the dust of uncertainty and misfortune.

“In every day, there are 1,440 minutes. That means we have 1,440 daily opportunities to make a positive impact.” ~Les Brown

pexels-photo-271159So even though you can’t always be 100% positive at all moments of the day, think of this…where are you in your day? Stop, take a breath, and try to take something positive out of the day. If you can’t, then do something nice for someone! The other day, I opened the door for a lady who needed a walker because she had just had back surgery. She thanked me, and we joked about how they need just one handicapped button to open the dual set of doors instead of two. I instantly felt good that I helped someone.

“Let us rise up and be thankful, for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little, and if we didn’t learn a little, at least we didn’t get sick, and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die; so let us all be thankful.” ~Buddha

Always remember that there are people out there who have it worse than you do. You have a lot to be thankful for! Take a look at where you are in life and if you don’t like it, try to fix it! If you can’t fix it, then be grateful for what you do have. Losing my home has definitely made me see that I didn’t appreciate what I had when I had it. There are others out there who have to sleep in the park with just the clothes on their backs and a sleeping bag, while I’m fortunate enough to be able to have friends who have let us stay in their amazing towable camper with running water, a toilet, a refrigerator and freezer, electricity, heat and air conditioner, a comfy bed, and a television with a DVD player. This isn’t my ideal way to live the rest of my life, but you better believe I am extremely thankful to be here instead of in my car where I was sleeping about a month ago!

Copyright © 2017 [Carrie Pottberg]. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

